5,888. 5/31/2004

On May 31, 2004, “During the CPA’s [Coalition Provisional Authority’s] last few weeks, [CPA leader L. Paul] Bremer had signed Order 92 that authorised the creation of an election commission, the Independent Electoral Commission of Iraq (IEC). The IEC had a nine-member Board of Commissioners that included seven voting members who were Iraqi citizens, and two non-voting members.”

 – Ali A. Allawi, The Occupation of Iraq, Page 335

Categorised in:

Comments are closed here.